Polka Dot Cake Didn't Quite Work Out ...

Decorating By MustangMollie Updated 2 Sep 2013 , 10:38am by MustangMollie

MustangMollie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MustangMollie Posted 26 Aug 2013 , 12:07pm
post #1 of 16

Hi folks,

I'm very new to cake decorating ... as in I made and decorated my first real attempt over the weekend for my birthday. I saw an awesome polka dot cake on Once Upon a Pedestal and I just had to try it. The cake was really yummy, but quite a few things went wrong :( Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!

Here's a link to the polka dot cake I was trying to make http://once-upon-a-pedestal.blogspot.com.au/2012/05/polka-dot-cake-from-bake-pop-pan.html

Here's mine: 

(butter cream crumb coating, pink fondant, and really messy 5 minute piping ... just as I started piping my baby woke up and started crying so I had no just get it on there)

Issue #1: 

The polka dots aren't all evenly in the middle of the layers. Especially on the upper right of the cake you can see the purple polka dot is like half missing (must have gotten chopped off when I leveled the cake). The cake batter was very thick (Betty Crocker vanilla with choc marble but I left the choc out), maybe I should make from scratch next time.

Issue #2:

You'll notice in the top picture that the star border around the base of the cake is only like 1/3 of the way around. For some unknown reason the piping bag got clogged or just stopped working. Is there any way to fix this? I didn't have time to start a new bag.

Issue #3:

The buttercream frosting recipe that I used called for almond and vanilla extract. My husband is allergic to nuts so I just substituted more vanilla extract for the almond extract. Is there a better substitute?

Issue #4:

I had a hard time getting the colour scheme that I wanted ... and went with different colours all together! Does anyone know of a tutorial for mixing up icing colours? I', using the Wilton gel colours.