Need Help To Paint Gold On Chocolate Ganache

Decorating By nuzhat Updated 4 Nov 2015 , 4:02am by AmberNada

nuzhat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nuzhat Posted 19 Aug 2013 , 4:10pm
post #1 of 14

Hi, I need help please. Im making a 50th wedding anniversary cake. Im not keen to use fondant and want to use chocolate ganache instead.It will be a 3 tiered cake.  But, I want to paint the cake on the sides and on the top tier with gold using stencils. Im worried the paint wont show through or will bleed and be messy. Please help. Thanks in advance

13 replies
btrsktch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
btrsktch Posted 20 Aug 2013 , 11:19am
post #2 of 14

AMix gold powder with pure cocoa butter

nuzhat Posted 21 Aug 2013 , 6:54am
post #3 of 14

AThanks a lot. I hope I can get my hands on pure cocoa butter. Have you tried this? Its not too messy, is it? Im fairly new to baking and not very confident when it comes to piping and stenciling. Thanks tho, will try it out.

nuzhat Posted 1 Sep 2013 , 9:17am
post #4 of 14

AHi all. Im back. Cant find cocoa butter where I live. Will royal icing work? Or just plain edible gold paint? Please advise. Soooo confused :~ Thanks in advance

Smckinney07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smckinney07 Posted 1 Sep 2013 , 10:21am
post #5 of 14

AUse luster dust, rub some shortening over the area then apply with a large brush like a dry dust. Here's a picture: http://lecakerie.blogspot.com/2011/06/stenciling-on-chocolate-ganache.html

HungryHappenings.com has a Firework cake, they mixed luster with vodka and painted it on. I've tried to do this on plain molded chocolate pieces and it always beads up, perhaps I used too much liquid because they made it work!

I'd do the dry dust method so nothing bleeds. You should do a trial run like they did in the first link.

BatterUpCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BatterUpCake Posted 1 Sep 2013 , 10:30am
post #6 of 14

There are just so many neat tricks out there!