Dry,cracked Fondant

Decorating By pbcookie21013 Updated 10 Jul 2013 , 8:18pm by KateCoughlin

pbcookie21013 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pbcookie21013 Posted 5 Jul 2013 , 12:26pm
post #1 of 5

first time I had no problems what so ever with fondant, of course it was a very big piece I was working on, but not this time, stored in the frig wrapped in cellophane, till ready to use, microwaved to soften up, rolled it out, stuck to the counter, re grouped, added some corn syrup to it, again rolled it out counter dusted with powdered sugar, stuck again, well I figure third time a charm, but nope, had to roll it up on the rolling pin at the same time "scraping" it off the counter with a spatula, got it up and attempted to put in on the cake, cracks everywhere, the more I tried to fix it the worse it got....I'm not a professional, but geesh to have that much trouble, I made my own fondant, with the marshmallows, Crisco,powdered sugar and water, I think maybe next time, just buying the tub of fondant from wal mart, even though they say it doesn't taste that good, it has to be better than, going trough the other way of failure...yea I looked on the net for answers why it was cracking, sticking and I did everything suggested and it still didn't work....anyone else have problems like this, and what did you do? I had said I would never ever again, but here  am, looking at making my granddaughter birthday rock n roll cake and one for Thanksgiving, am I a gluten for punishment or what? HELP!

4 replies
JSKConfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JSKConfections Posted 5 Jul 2013 , 12:41pm
post #2 of 5