How To Get People To Buy Cakes From Me??

Decorating By Rodriguez-km Updated 14 Mar 2013 , 1:52pm by Rodriguez-km

Rodriguez-km Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rodriguez-km Posted 14 Mar 2013 , 2:03am
post #1 of 4

So I've been baking for a couple years now, still not an expert but practicing, and I feel confident enough to start selling. I make cakes for close family members and holidays, but no one from "outside" has tried my cakes or even know I bake. I would like to know what you guys recommend me to do to get "known." First i thought about doing something like a cake tasting? Not sure if that would work and how I would do it, then I thought about a bake sale.

Plase give me ideas as how to get people to try my cakes, other than offering them and just waiting for someone to ask me for one!

Thanks!!

3 replies
melanie-1221 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melanie-1221 Posted 14 Mar 2013 , 2:27am
post #2 of 4

First , make sure you are compliant with your states food laws.

Then, what worked for me was making cakes for friends and family. I took a cake to every event, I made everyones wedding cakes, birthday cakes, shower cakes and from those cakes I would get inquiries from other attendees and friends.

I take photos of all of my cakes and post to facebook, friends share them on their walls if they like them, then I get inquiries from their friends also.

I donate cake to large fundraisers. ~It gives me practice, and it gets my name out there to a lot of people.

There are a lot of ways to do you, just keep trying until you find what works for you.

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 14 Mar 2013 , 2:47am
post #3 of 4