Design Help, I Seem To Have Lost My Imagination

Decorating By gemmal Updated 1 Mar 2013 , 7:41am by carmijok

gemmal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gemmal Posted 27 Feb 2013 , 4:57pm
post #1 of 13

I'm a hobby baker who is still learning, I'd love to get to the point where I could set up a business but in the mean time, I have friends and family who are ALL more than happy to get me to practice doing cakes for them which is where I am now.

Problem is at the moment a friend has asked me to do a cake for a 70th birthday, for a woman who likes crafts like gardening, knitting, sewing, art etc and loves roses/orchids and the cake has gone from being for 15 people to feed 50! I was thinking a basket with tools and knitting needles hanging out the side but to feed 50 it would have to be huge! I know its a hobby and I'm not expected to produce total artistic perfection but it's someone's 70th, I don't want a naff looking cake just so I can practise a bit more but I just can't think of how to design it. Any one have any ideas what I could do? Its like my brain gave up and refused to pitch in anymore. Thanks guys.

12 replies
Sparklekat6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sparklekat6 Posted 27 Feb 2013 , 5:13pm
post #2 of 13

Do you have to incorporate all those things?  I feel like if you are 70 it's assumed you can sew and knit.  Maybe you could do a cake with roses with a sparkley "70" at the top made with gumpaste and disco dust. 

ddaigle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ddaigle Posted 27 Feb 2013 , 5:25pm
post #3 of 13

Being that she likes gardening AND sewing...I would do a 2 tiered cake...a 6/10 (serves 50) and make one tier a gardening theme and the other tier a sewing theme.   Put on a 14" board so you have room to put "stuff" on the board.   With a 4" shelf, you will have room to put more "stuff" on the 10".

gemmal Posted 27 Feb 2013 , 5:28pm
post #4 of 13