Poured Ganache Over Smbc Questions

Decorating By tsal Updated 3 Feb 2013 , 5:26pm by tsal

tsal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tsal Posted 3 Feb 2013 , 2:39pm
post #1 of 3

Hi,

I've searched the archives and have found lots of ganache threads, but not many about pouring ganache over SMBC.

I am making a chocolate cake that will be filled with dark chocolate whipped ganache and covered in dark chocolate SMBC.  I would like to pour ganache over the entire cake to cover, but I have never done this before.

Questions:

1. SMBC is firmest when refrigerated, but I understand that poured ganache and cold cakes don't marry well.  What to do?

2.  I like to fill/crumbcoat my cakes frozen, and then let them set up in the fridge overnight.  I was planning on covering with ganache tomorrow morning (the cake is for tomorrow night). Is this ok?

3.  How long do i have to let the ganache set up before returning the cake to the fridge to avoid a dull-looking cake (which I understand happens when the ganache is refrigerated too quickly after being poured)?

Thanks for your help!

2 replies
BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 3 Feb 2013 , 4:05pm
post #2 of 3

I put poured ganache over a chilled buttercream iced cake (not a meringue buttercream).  The ganache has to cool down to just barely pourable so it doesn't melt the undercoat.

The undercoat has to be more than just a crumb coat--the ganache has little body so the icing has to have a normal smooth finish before you pour anything over it.

There is such a thing as reading too much on the internet.  Many recipes get the important details chopped off when they are copied out of books. And then somebody else reports a "problem"...that should not have happened.