Beginner In Need Of A Few Tips From The Wise And Experienced People!

Decorating By yumkat Updated 10 Dec 2012 , 6:43am by yumkat

yumkat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yumkat Posted 6 Dec 2012 , 7:41pm
post #1 of 15

Hi everyone, the title says it all so here are my questions; apologies if they seem naive but I m new in cakes!

- I'm in need for a tasty yet that can be kept safely out of the fridge buttercream recipe. As I'm new in cake decorating I may need quite a while (few days?) between icing and finishing my fondant decorating...

would recipes with butter be ok??? half crisco half butter?

-If i understand well, fondant/sugarpaste is pretty much just to cover cakes then? if i want to make characters or use silicone molds or cutters do i need to make gumpaste ( sugarpaste + tylose but what ratio?) Am I better off buying already made gumpaste?

-about rolling fondant: cornstarch or icing sugar, what do you reckon works best?

That's all for now, thanks for reading!

14 replies
jennajane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jennajane Posted 7 Dec 2012 , 1:53am
post #2 of 15

Hi Yumkat,

I'm not claiming to be wise, but here are a few quick answers

- buttercream:  Wilton's American buttercream works well and can sit out for a long time.  I use half butter half veg shortening, because I think it gives a better texture and taste. It is nice as you can always just add more sugar to make it thicker or milk/cream to make it thinner.