First Big Cake And A Little Scared!!!!

Decorating By sweetheaven2829 Updated 3 Dec 2012 , 5:15pm by leah_s

sweetheaven2829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetheaven2829 Posted 3 Dec 2012 , 12:52pm
post #1 of 11

Hello everyone, I am new to the cake world and self taught one everything so far....I am a little scared I have a four tear cake that I have to make by sunday, and now the mother wants it to smoke from the top of the cake and have each tear off set.  My thought was to yuse pvc pipe down the center of the cake with cap at the bottom so the water would not come out.  what does everyone think.  I am freaking out :) each layer is also different. one other thing what is the trick to very moist cake from scratch

10 replies
sweetheaven2829 Posted 3 Dec 2012 , 1:07pm
post #2 of 11

I know i have put a lot in my post but I really need some help. Moist cake is a big thing my cake was dry and I dont want that... any help on that

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 3 Dec 2012 , 2:45pm
post #3 of 11

AIf your cake is dry it is probably overbaked. Simple as that. I only have a few decades of cake experience and I don't think I would agree to make smoke come out of a cake.

denetteb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
denetteb Posted 3 Dec 2012 , 2:49pm
post #4 of 11

Just say no to the recent changes, especially the smoke requests.  If you don't think the offset change will stress you out you could go along with it, but if it complicates it for you then say no to that also.  Don't try a new recipe now, it is too late in the game to try something new, use your tried and true recipes.  Also beware of taking order changes from the mother, your customer should be the bride and groom....what if they don't want smoke and offset tiers and it is just the MOB's idea????  The order is in and paid for, just do what you had planned on and relax.

Sharis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sharis Posted 3 Dec 2012 , 4:02pm
post #5 of 11