Best Pans To Bake Cakes In? Opinion Question

Decorating By Chaudy Updated 29 Nov 2013 , 11:34pm by cooksdream

Chaudy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chaudy Posted 14 Oct 2012 , 7:55pm
post #1 of 27

Hello, I am new to cake decorating and new to this website/forums. I am learning basic cake decorating but quickly learning the skills. My question for you guys is this: In your opinion, what are some brands, or types of pans you find bake the best cakes for your creations? I know this can be loaded because you can use bundt, square, round, sheet...etc. I have two 9in round pans, one that was from the grocery store and is a dark non-stick and one that I found at good will that is a light no name brand. Both work great as long as I coat the pan with a greased layer covered with flour. I am looking to make multi layer cakes and I find that after I shave off the dome on both of my nine inch pans I have two layers that when split to make four, are pretty thin. I would like to expand my collection, I have one bundt pan as well, but looking to purchase maybe a few 8in pans, or even smaller for tiered cakes, and some square. What should I look for, and are there any brands people exclusively use?

Apologies if this is a repeated question but I ran a quick search on pans in the forums and couldn't find anything that answered this.

Thank you!
Amanda icon_biggrin.gif

26 replies
Godot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Godot Posted 14 Oct 2012 , 8:01pm
post #2 of 27

I love, love, love my Magic Line pans. Love 'em!

Narie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Narie Posted 14 Oct 2012 , 8:18pm
post #3 of 27

Magic Line definely. Since they are a tad expensive, space out your purchases as you need them. Also, do NOT toss them in the dishwasher. They get funky looking if you do. Take good care of them and they will never need replacing. ( Use parchment paper in the bottom of your pans and just use baking spray on the sides.)

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile