Shipping Cupcakes

Baking By doubleinfuzed Updated 8 Sep 2012 , 12:13pm by doubleinfuzed

doubleinfuzed Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doubleinfuzed Posted 1 Sep 2012 , 12:52pm
post #1 of 9

Hello all I am new all the way around, I am new to Cake Central but love the site.
And I am new to baking for large groups of people. I mainly bake cupcakes and make chocolate cover strawberries.
I started my business in Connecticut and now I have relocated to Virginia I am a at home business and have not made it to a store front yet one day. But I have customers that would like me to ship to them back in CT and other states. I would like to know the best way to ship my cupcakes far as packaging them to 1. keep them fresh and safe from messing up during in shipping also need to know this for chocolate cover strawberries as well?
And how do you factor in a shipping price or is it best just to have the customer pay the shipping at time of delivery?
Please help me out someone

8 replies
HotPink_LipGloss Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HotPink_LipGloss Posted 6 Sep 2012 , 4:38am
post #2 of 9

I think there are special containers to ship cupcakes. Georgiatown Cupcakes ship and they have clear containers like Walmart but they have a hole on the top of each cupcake cavity...they stick a wooden stick through it and through the cupcake so it doesn't move when they put the box on it. Then they put it in a shipping box

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 6 Sep 2012 , 9:25am
post #3 of 9

You cannot ship without an FDA license and no home kitchen can be licensed. If you are caught, it's a federal offense.

Your state Dept of Ag has the information on the FDA license and what is required in the separate commercial kitchen.

HotPink_LipGloss Posted 6 Sep 2012 , 10:15am
post #4 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by scp1127

You cannot ship without an FDA license and no home kitchen can be licensed. If you are caught, it's a federal offense.