Creative Control - A Blessing Or A Curse!!!!!

Baking By bunnykins Updated 26 Jul 2012 , 10:47pm by bunnykins

bunnykins Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bunnykins Posted 3 Jul 2012 , 11:35am
post #1 of 11

I'm a hobby baker and I have (foolishly??) agreed to do 150 wedding cupcakes for a close friend, I don't have a problem with the amount, she only wants vanilla and I once made 600 in 10 different flavours for a fete! so this should be a breeze!! My issue is that she has no ideas around what she wants, she said for me to just do what I think is best!
I've tried asking if she wants fondant or buttercream, or if she wants different colours to match the wedding colours or just ivory etc and all were met with a 'I'll leave it up to you'. I have the potential to ruin her wedding if I get it wrong but I cannot get any ideas out of her!

Should I bake up a batch of 4 with my ideas on and see what she thinks? Or should I just go with what I think best and turn up on the day with them???

My ideas are to have 35 cupcakes with ivory (or maybe lilac) buttercream topped with a sugar paste white rose (which is her bouquet flower) then 35 with ivory butter cream topped with a sugarpaste orchid (the other bouquet flower) then 30 topped with ivory fondant with maybe a royal icing stencil or indented pattern then a lilac fondant ribbon & bow (the wedding colour) with maybe some little mini white roses??? What do you guys think??????

10 replies
TheSweetTreat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheSweetTreat Posted 3 Jul 2012 , 11:44am
post #2 of 11

Well, my opinion would be to just make what you want and don't consult with her. I think she's made it clear that she just wants you to do them as you see fit. Hearing your ideas I think she's in good hands.