Cake Pans Vs Bundt Cake Pans !?!?!

Baking By BatterBob Updated 1 Jul 2012 , 3:50am by BatterBob

BatterBob Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BatterBob Posted 30 Jun 2012 , 4:20am
post #1 of 4

Hello Everyone,

My name is BatterBob and I just found this website while browsing the net.
I am very excited about all I've read and seen so in here far that I had to create an account... icon_smile.gif
I just started baking cakes from scratch, as I got really tired of finding recipes calling for the boxed stuff...
I have nothing against that but I need a little more "challenge" if you know what I mean. icon_cool.gif
So far I only have 1 bundt pan and 2 glass pyrex pans, I am very new at all this
BUT at the same time I am really willing to learn everything I can.
For instance, can somebody tell me the difference between a cake pan and a bundt pan besides the tube, what are they exactly used for ???
I've heard that there is a big difference in textures after baking a cake.
Can I bake the same cake batter in different types of pans ???
Should I use All Purpose Flour or Cake Flour ???

I know these questions may sound super basic for all of you, but I would really appreciate some direction in order to have a good start.

Thanks to everyone and I hope to hear from you all !!!! thumbs_up.gif

Keep on Bakin' !!!

3 replies
MimiFix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MimiFix Posted 30 Jun 2012 , 5:45pm
post #2 of 4

Welcome to CC, BatterBob.

Bundt pans are decorative, while cake pans are flat and mostly used for baking cake layers. For using different sized pans, I found this link on google. http://allrecipes.com/howto/cake-pan-size-conversions/

There's a lot to learn so join in the fun! In addition to reading forum questions/answers, I suggest you also read some basic baking books and visit a few websites such as allrecipes.com