New And Just Getting Started

Lounge By ChiWOWa Updated 18 Jun 2012 , 3:54am by Mikomomof4

ChiWOWa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChiWOWa Posted 1 May 2012 , 12:04am
post #1 of 8

Hi all,

I am very new to cake decorating. I have only decorated 2 cakes in my life and that was two weeks ago LOL. This is how it started...
I was channel surfing about 2 weeks ago and stumbled apon "The Ultimate Cake off"..I watched in stunned silence, the next show was "Cake Boss" and I was hooked!!
My husband and I bought a couple of uniced cakes on special at the supermarket, added a tub of Satin Ice fondant to the cart and came home and then the fun began!!
I did not know that you shouldn't use ordinary liquid food colouring to fondant. I did not know that you were supposed to use gumpaste for flowers (actually I had never heard of gumpaste till I found Cake Central!)
In fact, I think "clueless" pretty much describes me as far as cake decoring is concerned!
However I had a lot of fun and the results were not as bad as they could have been....but I am now an addict LOL and have ordered a few "supplies" and hope to do a lot more decorating, starting with a Mothers Day cake for my daughter.

I have attached two pics of my first ever attempts, if this is the wrong place I apologise and hope someone will steer me in the right direction.

Looking forward to getting to know you all and learning as much as I can.

Cheers
Terry
(New Zealand)
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL

7 replies
shanter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shanter Posted 1 May 2012 , 12:11am
post #2 of 8

Friendly advice:
Start socking away the money for all of the cake decorating "toys" you will want. I don't even want to know how much I've spent on implements that I haven't used yet......
icon_smile.gif

ChiWOWa Posted 1 May 2012 , 12:25am
post #3 of 8

LOL I have NO idea why one of the pics is appearing several times! How do I delete the extras??