Help With Setting Up Cake Table

Decorating By cakemagic Updated 15 Jun 2012 , 2:56am by cakemagic

cakemagic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemagic Posted 18 Apr 2012 , 5:13pm
post #1 of 20

Our library has different events each month and next month's program is "What I learned from library". it is gallery walk and there are few other people who will participate like a photographer and a florist. They asked me as a cake decorator. I don't have all the details but I will have a table to display cakes cookies and etc... I need some ideas on how to go about this. I have never done this before (I decorate as a hobby although I would love to have my own business)
The lady said I could sell my cakes but I am not sure since I don't have a cake shop and our state doesn't have a cottage food law.
I need help with what to display ( cakes, cake pops, cupcakes maybe) and how to display them. I would appreciate if you could suggest some ideas...like color scheme and what to use to display the cakes and cake pops....
thanks

19 replies
sweetideas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetideas Posted 18 Apr 2012 , 5:39pm
post #2 of 20

I don't know about tables, but these are cute:

http://cakecentral.com/gallery/1832354/book-cupcakes

ETA: As far as your display: I would just be sure to have different levels to display on for the most attractive look.

Jeannem Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeannem Posted 18 Apr 2012 , 6:15pm
post #3 of 20

I'm assuming this is just for display, and no specific theme...I personally would walk through my home and use items I already have for the display--a pillar candle holder is now a cupcake holder, a vase is a pedestal for a cake, a framed mirror is a cookie display, a favorite tablecloth is the base. Then I would pull colors from these items, choosing items I feel comfortable making.

cakemagic Posted 20 Apr 2012 , 2:10am
post #4 of 20

anyone else has ideas ? icon_biggrin.gif

cakemagic Posted 23 Apr 2012 , 6:04pm
post #5 of 20