Lets Begin.......

Decorating By Kirsty2010 Updated 19 Mar 2012 , 10:09pm by cakemama2010

Kirsty2010 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kirsty2010 Posted 18 Mar 2012 , 7:06pm
post #1 of 9

Hey everyone,
Hope all those mums out there had a lovely Mothers Day!!!

I am new to cake decorating and there is so much I can do I was wondering where everyone thinks I ought to begin.
I would like for you all to share with my what you started with???
The cakes and decoration on here are amazing!!!

Many thanks icon_razz.gif

8 replies
bakencake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakencake Posted 18 Mar 2012 , 7:44pm
post #2 of 9

Hi Kristy,
I took the wilton classes. each class comes with a kit and all the basics you need to start cake decorating. I have since upgraded to fancy and expensive wants but the kit has all my needs that i still use. hth

MsGF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MsGF Posted 18 Mar 2012 , 8:04pm
post #3 of 9

Hey Kristy;

Welcome to the decorating world, it is very addicting and lots of fun. I totally agree with previous poster. (Bakencake) Start with the basics, take a few Wilton Classes. You will get the tools to start and learn the tricks of the trade. You will meet people and have fun while you learn.

Have Fun, Happy Decorating

Jamielc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jamielc Posted 18 Mar 2012 , 8:21pm
post #4 of 9

Hello and welcome!
I also started with the basic Wilton classes at my local craft store. Since then I've relied on the internet (including this site) to gather ideas, tricks, techniques, recipes etc. I took the classes 6 years ago but consider myself "self-taught" at this point .. but the classes were a great starting point! I took the classes to learn a new school and to get me out of the house ... and now I'm the Go To cake person for my family and friends. icon_smile.gif

Serena4016 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Serena4016 Posted 18 Mar 2012 , 8:34pm
post #5 of 9