**recipe Substitution Question????**

Baking By JuSt_CaKiN Updated 26 Feb 2012 , 1:11am by JuSt_CaKiN

JuSt_CaKiN Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JuSt_CaKiN Posted 22 Feb 2012 , 11:18pm
post #1 of 10

I am a beginner cake decorator and I am trying for the first time ever to make a cake from scratch. I am attempting a red velvet cake icon_biggrin.gif so the recipe calls for baking soda. Can i substitute in baking powder instead?

9 replies
cashley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cashley Posted 22 Feb 2012 , 11:38pm
post #2 of 10

Got this off the internet for you

Use of Baking Powder as Baking Soda
Some recipes call for baking soda, while others require baking powder. Either way, our ultimate goal is to prepare a tasty recipe with a pleasing texture. Since baking soda is basic in nature, it will create a bitter taste unless countered by the acidity of some other ingredient, like buttermilk. Whereas baking powder has both an acid and a base, hence it creates an overall neutral effect in terms of taste. Therefore, recipes that call for baking powder, require other neutral tasting ingredients, like milk. Baking soda is four times more stronger than baking powder hence one may have to use 2 - 3 times more baking powder than baking soda. Therefore, if a recipe calls for 1 tsp of baking soda, one should use 3 tsp of baking powder, and to prepare baking powder, one has to mix 2 tsp cream of tartar with 1 tsp baking soda.

kmstreepey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kmstreepey Posted 22 Feb 2012 , 11:56pm
post #3 of 10

Sometimes baking soda is required to counter an acidic ingredient. Red velvet usually has buttermilk in it and the baking soda may be required for that. Otherwise, the acid will prevent your cake from setting properly. So, the answer is maybe, but it depends on what other ingredients are in the recipe.