How Much Should I Charge?

Decorating By Mittu Updated 2 Jan 2012 , 5:33am by sweettreat101

Mittu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mittu Posted 27 Dec 2011 , 12:13am
post #1 of 16

Hi!

I am a new baker. So far I have only been baking for friends and family for fun. Recently I've started getting orders. I was wondering how much I should charge. I do not want to over charge or be ripped off either....

This was basically a from scratch cake. It was made of 4* 9inch butter cakes, expensive vanilla extract,vanilla powder. Butter cream made entirely of butter and with a homemade raspberry filling.[/img]

The Doll was a gift to the birthday girl so. How much do you think I should charge for the cake. Being a newbie it took me a whole day to do the decorating, hence I am not considering labor. i want to build my skills before I do that. The Ingredients alone costed me $40. Except the doll everything was made by me.[img][/img]
LL

15 replies
Mittu Posted 27 Dec 2011 , 12:23am
post #2 of 16

This was my first fondant cake. I usually make fresh cream pastries.

armymom5906 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
armymom5906 Posted 27 Dec 2011 , 2:29am
post #3 of 16

This is a cute cake! Keep up the good work!

AZCouture Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCouture Posted 27 Dec 2011 , 2:29am
post #4 of 16

Those two cakes have two layers each?? Really? I'm having a hard time with several things here. Those look like 6" maybe 7" single layer rounds, what the heck is 'basically from scratch', and where did the $40 go? Not trying to be argumentative, but those things just jumped out at me. icon_smile.gif

QTCakes1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
QTCakes1 Posted 27 Dec 2011 , 2:48am
post #5 of 16

I say keep working at it. I have to be honest I would not pay high custom cake prices for that type of design work.

Mittu Posted 27 Dec 2011 , 3:28am
post #6 of 16