Yet Another Please Help Me With My First Wedding Cake Post

Decorating By karukaru Updated 22 Oct 2011 , 3:52pm by tarabara

karukaru Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karukaru Posted 22 Oct 2011 , 1:49pm
post #1 of 4

Hello everyone!
I have my first wedding on Oct 29th (this Saturday) and I am super nervous so I have a few questions. The cake will be a 3 tier cake to feed 85 people (1 square 12", 1 9" round and the anniversary cake, which it is just a 6" round.) with raspberry filling. Each tier will have too layers, vanilla wasc and chocolate (I am doing tests this weekend to see if the chocolate layer should be choco wasc or rose levy Berambaum's 3 tier choco butter wedding cake because I have never tried those before- the cake was going to be vanilla but now my friend changed his mind.) Hopefully I will be able to got to a cake supervision class at a local profesional baker's store the day before (I am hoping my hubby can take the day off to take care of our toddlers so I can go) so I can decorate the cake there. Here are the questions:

1. I usually cover my cakes in Indydebbie's crusting buttercream (under the fondant) but I am not sure if it will complement the flavors. I was thinking of mixing the buttercream with the rasberry filling (it is like a preserve, I bought it at that cake decorating store/bakery) or maybe adding a rasberry oil or something.

2. I was going to stack the cakes with dowel rods and with a long dowel rod that will go through all the layers in the center but I have read about sps and now I am wondering if I should use that instead.

3. What is the difference between sps and the wilton pillars with the cake separator plates.

4. How should I transport the cake, All stacked up or only the 2 tiers and then put the top tier overe there.