Trex In Buttercream... Help

Baking By dodge666 Updated 4 Oct 2011 , 7:52am by amaryllis756

dodge666 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dodge666 Posted 1 Oct 2011 , 11:52pm
post #1 of 9

I understand that Trex can be used in buttercream, please can somebody throw some light on the recipe for me. Ive just made marshmallow butter cream and it was to hard, then I melted it down in the micro for a few seconds, My cakes were a right mess as it all slipped off. Never again.

I want a buttercream that is stiff and will hold its shape on the cupcakes, one thats easy to pipe but wont slip off!!!

I'm making cakes for the church to raise money and I dont want to leave them down with messy toppings. Im not a pro at this cake stuff.

Thanks for your time .. kim

8 replies
amaryllis756 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amaryllis756 Posted 2 Oct 2011 , 9:44am
post #2 of 9

I don't know what Trex is, but I use swiss meringue buttercream, but it might be too hot in Texas to that frosting, it does melt, especially in the sun.

Joanna1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Joanna1 Posted 3 Oct 2011 , 8:08am
post #3 of 9

Trex is the UK version to Crisco. You can use an a buttercream which is all-trex or you can go half and half with butter and trex. The all-trex version will hold better especially in the heat as it will give you a nice crust. You can use Indydebi's buttercream which seems to get great reviewshttp://cakecentral.com/recipes/6992/indydebis-crisco-based-buttercream-icing

Caths_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caths_Cakes Posted 3 Oct 2011 , 9:52am
post #4 of 9