How Do I Make A Beer Cooler Cake?

Decorating By JellyDeVoll Updated 6 Oct 2011 , 5:07pm by MadeYaLook

JellyDeVoll Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JellyDeVoll Posted 29 Sep 2011 , 9:41pm
post #1 of 3

Hi! My boyfriends 21st birthday is coming up and I am new to cake decorating. I have taken my classes but I haven't got to take my sculpting and stacking one just yet. Does anyone have any idea how to make a beer cooler cake? I would prefer not to use fondant... just because my boyfriend isn't a fan of it. I am going for an Oregon Ducks theme so the cooler itself will be hunter green. Any help on stacking the cake and what I should use would be amazing! I thought of using dowels but I wasn't sure if that would support the cake enough. I want to do half a sheet cake long and a few layers high. Any suggestions will be great! Thank you so much icon_biggrin.gif

2 replies
cupadeecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupadeecakes Posted 6 Oct 2011 , 4:54pm
post #2 of 3

The simpler you keep it, the easier it will be on you. I don't know your skill level but you say you are fairly new, so I would not try to make the cooler with a hinged lid. Either make it with the lid closed, or the lid off. If lid off, you can make a well in the cake and fill it with sculpted (or real I suppose) beers.

Some coolers are sloped like this "\\__/" so you could carve the sides down a little. Covering in buttercream should be no problem, although it might not be as smooth as fondant.

As for stacking, there are lots of schools of thought here, but I use drinking straws. I deliver 4, 5, and 6 tier wedding cakes every weekend and they're sitting on plastic straws. But wooden dowels will work just fine. My "tiers" are 3 layers of cake. I will place my supports and then put the next tier of cake (on a cake board - covered cardboard is OK) on top of the first tier. For stability, run one dowel down the entire middle of the cake.