Royal Blue Velvet Cake

Baking By snazzycakes1 Updated 22 Sep 2011 , 7:27pm by chestercheeto

snazzycakes1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snazzycakes1 Posted 5 Sep 2011 , 5:01pm
post #1 of 16

i have a cake request to make royal blue velvet cake. is this pretty much a white cake with blue food coloring. I am a doctored box baker, please dont judge me . lol can i just make my normal vanilla cake with blue color? is there a specific flavoring in it? thanks

15 replies
Cupcations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cupcations Posted 5 Sep 2011 , 5:06pm
post #2 of 16

I'm not an expert but... Red velvet cake is actually chocolate cake with red food coloring & some other stuff lol.
So try using a red velvet recipe scratch if possible & instead of red add royal blue... I know Bakerella made it with green

I use this recipe

http://www.bakerella.com/red-velvet-cake/

Heres where she used it with green

http://www.bakerella.com/red-velvet-revisited/

HTH thumbs_up.gif

MimiFix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MimiFix Posted 5 Sep 2011 , 5:47pm
post #3 of 16

snazzycakes1, you should be able to make the blue velvet cake using your vanilla cake mix and adding blue color. The amount of coloring will need experimentation. I have a basic cake recipe I use for red velvet; it works for blue, green, or pink velvet just by deleting the cocoa and using the appropriate food color.

Narie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Narie Posted 5 Sep 2011 , 6:44pm
post #4 of 16

Cupcations- about the red velvet cake recipe- that seems like a lot of oil. (I dislike the oily taste of high oil content baked goods.) I frequently substitute applesauce for part of the oil. The liquid ratio remains correct and the baked good is moist. Since you have made the recipe, does it seem rational to use 1 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil?

pickles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pickles Posted 5 Sep 2011 , 6:58pm
post #5 of 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MimiFix