Best Way To Do Letters Out Of Fondant?

Decorating By jenabbott00 Updated 21 Aug 2011 , 2:16am by kittiboo

jenabbott00 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenabbott00 Posted 17 Aug 2011 , 9:31pm
post #1 of 16

What is the best way to do fondant letters? I am not very good at freehand and the cookie cutters I found were to big and the letter cutters from the craft store are to little and bland. I am looking for some pretty font letters.

Thanks

15 replies
cabecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cabecakes Posted 17 Aug 2011 , 10:01pm
post #2 of 16

If you have a specific font in mind, maybe you could buy some stencil sheets and an exacto knife and cut your own stencils. Or if you can find a stencil with the particular font you want, you could cut them out with an exacto knife. Some of the finer lettering that you see on here has been done with the cricut cutting systems or other cutting systems. If this is out of your budget, like it is for me being a hobby baker, you could try the stencils.

LaBellaTorta Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaTorta Posted 17 Aug 2011 , 10:17pm
post #3 of 16

I am not sure if you can get them in the US, but in the UK I use FMM Tappits with gumpaste. Essentially cutters in different fonts that are really easy to use (with a little practice) and you can have the paste super thin so it looks really elegant.

Here is a link to the UK site - http://www.fmmsugarcraft.com/pages/browse.php?cat=4

nicoles0419 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nicoles0419 Posted 17 Aug 2011 , 10:24pm
post #4 of 16

you can type what you want on "word" or "notepad" on the computer print, cut and trace with an exacto knife

heartsnsync Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heartsnsync Posted 18 Aug 2011 , 2:41am
post #5 of 16

I use the tappits. I just roll my fondant out really thin and let it dry over night. Then I go back and cut and the fondant "taps" right out.

All4Show Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
All4Show Posted 18 Aug 2011 , 2:51am