First Real Disaster - A Bit Disheartened..

Decorating By schustc Updated 28 Aug 2011 , 2:35am by costumeczar

schustc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
schustc Posted 17 Aug 2011 , 2:25am
post #1 of 6

Ok - I'm not a pro or even a wanna be icon_smile.gif I haven't even sold a cake yet. I'm only tinkering and looking toward one day maybe selling a cake or 2. I've put 2 up for donation to a fund raiser but that's it...

*sigh* so. My husband's Birthday was last week, on Tuesday. I did a cake for my aunt thursday, one for my parents on sunday, and by Tuesday was too tired and didn't have time or a way to hide a cake from him. The 2 for my parents and aunt were basic no frills cakes. I wanted to do something special for my husband, as he's watched and or helped me do some of them. But given the time and inability to hide hours of work from him (we both work full time) i opted to make a Giant choc chip cookie and my 3 yr old daughter 'wrote' on it with Icing. We had a candle and everything, and I was able to whip it together in an hour and half after I got home (left work a little early) it was hot out of the oven, barely drizzled with icing when he walked in the door.

Fast forward to Thursday. I get a call from my Mother in law, who says we are having a family gathering on saturday for DH's 40th B-day.. DH says he knows nothing about it, until MIL mentions she was going to come over ON his birthday but he said he'd rather do it on the weekend.

So. Foolishly, I think I can figure out a way to whip something special up friday night and saturday - figuring I can get 6 hours in there somehow..

So a couple of hours looking up ideas and deciding on a 'yoda' 3-d cake as he love star wars. I make up a family emergency to sneak out of the house Friday morning to go to my moms, and work for 4 hours on making modeling chocolate and baking the cakes.