Uh Oh, My Fire Has Gone Out.....

Decorating By Periperi Updated 6 Aug 2011 , 3:03am by luckyblueeye

Periperi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Periperi Posted 5 Aug 2011 , 8:33pm
post #1 of 6

I'm not a professional baker, just a SAHM who started playing around w/ cakes back in March of this year. I'm learning a lot and having fun making family and friends cakes. My BFF is having her baby shower at my home next Saturday.

When I first found out she was pregnant I told her I wanted to make her a cake.....she could pick anything she wanted. (oh boy do I regret saying that) She wanted a 3 tier topsy turvy Alice in Wonderland themed cake for her shower. OMG!! I have never done a topsy turvy and convinced her a few weeks ago to do each tier as it's own cake and not stacked. She wants the new version of the mad hatter's hat, the old version of the cheshire cat, and a tea pot w/ a tea cup cut in half on top. She also wants bread and butterflies, the caterpillar, playing cards, the singing flowers, etc etc etc.

It's a week from tomorrow and I haven't started ANYTHING! All the excitement and zeal I've had for cakes and cake decorating has all of a sudden vanished. I did call her and tell her that I would do what I could, but can't promise all the things she wants. She's ok with that. It's not like she's being mean or demanding.....she honestly just doesn't understand how much work is involved.

Sorry I'm whining to you all. I know if I said a word to my hubby he would have zero compassion since I put myself in this position. Just needed to vent a bit I guess. It's just a really bad time for the fire to go out. Thanks for "listening" my cake friends. ¢¾

5 replies
luckylibra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luckylibra Posted 5 Aug 2011 , 8:45pm
post #2 of 6