Newbie Here. First Time Cake Recipe Needed.

Baking By nadineme Updated 5 Jul 2011 , 2:57pm by nadineme

nadineme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nadineme Posted 4 Jul 2011 , 11:27pm
post #1 of 3

Hi.....My name is Nadine. I am very new to cake or anything decorating. I love making simple duncan hines cakes and eating them up like theres no tomorrow. I have recently seen a websit of my daughters friend who makes cakes. Absolutely beautifull. She does alot of stuff in bulk so trying to cut the recipe is really tough. Does anyone have a simple white cake recipe that would be good for someone starting out. And a little advice as far as icing and decorating would be fantastic with this being my first real attempt.

Thanks to anyone who can help me out here.

2 replies
TheBakingNurse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheBakingNurse Posted 4 Jul 2011 , 11:47pm
post #2 of 3

The *Original* WASC cake recipe
Ingredients
The *original* WASC cake recipe by kakeladi
1 box cake mix (I prefer Betty Crocker) *see notes at end
1 cup flour*
1 cup granulated sugar
generous dash of salt

1 cup sour cream*
1 cup water *
3 whole eggs
1 tablespoon flavoring*

Instructions
In bowl mix together dry ingredients. Its helpful to use a wire whisk; important w/choco cake not so much for other flavors.

1.In mixer bowl place next 4 ingredients. Add about 1/2 of the dry ingredients and blend together, then add the rest of the dry ingredients & blend. Mix for 2 minutes.
2.Pour into prepared pans * and bake as usual.
4.*NOTES: *ANY* cake flavor can be used. Some tell me they just dump all ingredients into the bowl together others say they sift all dry ingredients together.
5.Match the flavoring to the cake flavor such use lemon/almond mix for lemon cake; strawberry for a strawberry cake etc, etc. For most flavors you can use a mixture of vanilla, butter, and almond which is what I do most of the time.