Gluten Free Cake Mix Help Fast (For Saturday)

Baking By gingerpup84 Updated 15 Jun 2011 , 12:26pm by towenby1

gingerpup84 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gingerpup84 Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 9:43pm
post #1 of 14

I am doing a cake this weekend for a gluten free baby shower. I've never done gluten free before, so I decided to use a mix. However the mix I have (and now have 6 of) tastes kind of, well, yuck. Not horrible, but kind of bland. On the positive side, it has a very good texture and seems sturdy enough for decorating. Does anyone have any ideas of anything I can add to/modify with this mix?? The mix is from Bob's Red Mill.
http://www.bobsredmill.com/gf-chocolate-cake-mix.html

According to the package directions, you add
1/2 cup butter or margarine
1 cup milk mixed with 1 TBSP. lemon juice
2 large eggs
1/3 cup hot water
2 tsp. vanilla.

These little mixes are a bit expensive and I don't have a ton of time to experiment, so any ideas would be greatly appreciated!! I have been thinking along the lines of adding some pudding mix and a little extra milk. Any other ideas??

13 replies
SarahBeth3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SarahBeth3 Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 9:55pm
post #2 of 14

I did the same thing for a wedding cake recently. (chocolate g-free) It was a good texture but had a "not so great" taste. I didn't have a clue on how to "spice" it up & was kind of scared to try, so I'll be interested to see what kind of responses you get! Hope you get it all figured out and tasting fabulous!

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 9 Jun 2011 , 10:52pm
post #3 of 14

I also use a mix for gf. I buy Gluten Free Pantry brand and it tastes pretty much like "regular" cake. So far I have always added lemon (checked the label) icing fruit and used Bavarian Cream as a filling.