Irish Car Bomb Recipe

Baking By steffla Updated 11 May 2011 , 8:54pm by steffla

steffla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
steffla Posted 10 May 2011 , 3:26am
post #1 of 14

Hi there! The gourmet flavors thread has been silent for a while so I am trying my question this way...

So here's my question..about to make the Irish car bomb cake which is one I've never made before. Anyone who has made it have any advice or suggestions?

For the filling, I am doing the white choc truffle as suggested and I really needed to know approximately how much baileys to add to it to make the Irish cream filling. I am hoping this will be stable enough to carve because I need to carve a foot!

Any advice would be appreciated

13 replies
yummy_in_my_tummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy_in_my_tummy Posted 10 May 2011 , 3:51am
post #2 of 14

Do you bake from scratch or a box? I'm a box baker, so I would use the WASC receipe and use Guiness as my liquid. Although I have read somewhere about reducing it first, by boiling the extra liquid out, so you're left with almost like a syrupy consistancy. Then I would do as you're saying and add Bailey's to a buttercream - as for how much, I'm not really sure. I would just do a little at a time until I got the flavor I wanted. You could also used Bailey's like a simple syrup is used, and put some directly onto the cake. Yum!

steffla Posted 10 May 2011 , 5:25am
post #3 of 14

Thanks! I do both box and scratch depending on the cake. For this I was going to use macsmom's version of the Waac but it is based in chocolate cake mixes...is that right or odd? I hate guiness so it's hard for me to come up with.

My larger concern however isif it will be too soft to carve or is a fairly sturdy cake? Plus I was thinking of a baileys buttercream but also considering the baileys white chocolate truffle but I just wasn't sure how much baileys to add. Will start with a tablespoon and a tasting spoon, lol!

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile