Beginner Questions!

Decorating By kcbakes Updated 5 May 2011 , 2:30pm by lilmissbakesalot

kcbakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kcbakes Posted 5 May 2011 , 1:48pm
post #1 of 5

I am making a couple graduation cakes next weekend and I am pretty new to actually decorating cakes to make them look great! I am wondering for a beginner, what is easier to use for this purpose. My Aunt has always used a recipe for decorator's icing with Crisco only and I see on here alot of people using buttercream. Sorry I am asking such a basic question but I really want to do a good job and try my hand at making great cakes for others down the road. Thanks for any help or suggestions you can give me!

4 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 5 May 2011 , 2:06pm
post #2 of 5

I'm not exactly sure what your question is.

As far as buttercream goes, if you look into the recipe you may find that it has crisco, crisco/butter mixed or straight butter. There isn't a right or wrong icing to use. It is what works best for you. What tastes best to you.

I use a buttercream with all crisco because I live in Texas and icing made with butter does not hold up to the heat like icing made with crisco. I also get a white white icing when I use crisco.

Karadactyl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karadactyl Posted 5 May 2011 , 2:07pm
post #3 of 5

I can't speak for everyone else but I use a recipe that uses both Crisco and butter. You get the taste of real buttercream with the stability that Crisco provides. Also, I haven't personally tried it but I know everyone on here RAVES about Indydebi's Buttercream recipe. You can search for it in the Recipe section! Good luck and Welcome!

kcbakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kcbakes Posted 5 May 2011 , 2:25pm
post #4 of 5