Help!!!! Very New To This

Decorating By frasercakes2011 Updated 4 May 2011 , 2:44am by MacsMom

frasercakes2011 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
frasercakes2011 Posted 3 May 2011 , 6:38pm
post #1 of 11

i am new to decorating cakes and i just had a question i am making a butterscotch pudding cake for my mom for mothers day and i needed to know if i can still decorate it or if it would taste bad if i did. the recipe calls for
1 (3 3/4 oz) pkg butterscotch pudding
2 cups of milk
1 yellow cake mix
1 pkg butterscotch morsels
1/2 cup chopped nuts

prepare pudding w/ milk as directed on pkg (let cool) stir into cake mix and blend well pour in 13x9 pan sprinkle w/ butterscotch morsels and chopped nuts and bake at 350 degrees for 30 to 35 min.
would it still be possible to decorate a cake after that or does anyone know a butterscotch cake recipe that i could Still decorate. any ideas would be so much appreciated thank you so much!

10 replies
crazybus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crazybus Posted 3 May 2011 , 6:57pm
post #2 of 11

Why would you not be able to decorate it? Were you thinking of doing buttercream icing on the outside of the cake? Fondant?

Why would it taste bad if decorated?

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 3 May 2011 , 6:57pm
post #3 of 11

That sounds like an odd recipe to me.

What I would do is take your cake mix, and make it according to the directions on the box, adding in an extra egg, and the powder butterscotch pudding mix. You can think mix in your morsels and nuts and bake.

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 3 May 2011 , 7:05pm
post #4 of 11

It sounds like its meant to be very rich, a "stand alone" type of cake.....I don't know if it would taste good iced, maybe you should try it and see how it turns out? Sounds almost brownie-ish....

boxerbabe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
boxerbabe Posted 3 May 2011 , 7:13pm
post #5 of 11