Career Changing Fears

Business By SweetCakesbyAmy Updated 7 Apr 2011 , 8:53pm by CalhounsCakery

SweetCakesbyAmy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetCakesbyAmy Posted 6 Apr 2011 , 3:54pm
post #1 of 12

Hi, im new to Cake Central and have a odd question i havent found anwhere else.......

So i have been making cakes for my kids birthday Parties for over 10 years now. In the last 2 years I have started taking on clients and making more and more cakes. I now average 2-3 cakes a month--which is a lot for me considering i have a 50 hour regular job and 3 kids at home. I have been considering switching career paths and doing cakes full time. I am currently 31 years old and well my main concern is... when I was younger I fell and developed carpel tunnel in both my wrists. It usually doesnt bother me but this last weekend I made 2 cakes and after i had mixed all the fondant and piped all the royal icing my wrists were burning. Is this a wise move, is there any methods I can try to aleaviate the problem, etc.....I just need some solid advice! Thanks in advance!!!

11 replies
GGFan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GGFan Posted 6 Apr 2011 , 4:12pm
post #2 of 12

Hi Amy,
I'm so sorry to hear about your wrist. I saw someone posted this topic about this 5-6 months ago on here. There were a few recomendation but I only remember one. Someone suggested using a decorating glove that you put on to help with the wrist.

But to be honest I think it would be really hard. I don't have the condition but I work on desk job so I used my wrist typing quite a bit and it hurts everytime I have to lift heavy cake in and out of the fridge, when frosting, rolling out fondant, extensive piping, etc. Maybe you should do an experiment and see if your wrist could really handle it because you have to do a lot more cake than you are doing now to make up for your full time job. HTH.

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 6 Apr 2011 , 4:16pm
post #3 of 12