Strawberry Cake For Carving Please!

Baking By Carda Updated 13 Jun 2013 , 4:05pm by stacymoore

Carda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Carda Posted 29 Mar 2011 , 1:20pm
post #1 of 13

Hi cake gurus,

In a couple of weeks I am making a 3D pirate ship cake for a little boy. I have never done it before, and he wants a strawberry cake. Do any of you have a recipe for a good strawberry cake that holds up well to stacking and carving? I would prefer a scratch recipe, but if that is not available I'll take some sort of doctored mix recipe.

Thank you so much!

12 replies
CookieD-oh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookieD-oh Posted 29 Mar 2011 , 1:27pm
post #2 of 13

I use this one for all my strawberry cake needs icon_biggrin.gif It's yummy and holds up well.

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Strawberry-Cake-from-Scratch/Detail.aspx

Carda Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 12:18am
post #3 of 13

Thanks for that link! I tried it today and it was delicious, but I feel it was a bit too moist for making the pirate ship. It crumbled quite a bit, so I thin I would have a nightmare with icing it.

Is there no recipe out there that has a bit more the texture of a pound cake maybe? Dense and with easy carving. I realise that may mean it's not very strawberry, but that would be okay, I could make it taste of more with strawberry buttercream.

VaBelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VaBelle Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 1:59am
post #4 of 13

Have you tried the WASC recipe? I believe they have a recipe for cake mix and scratch cakes. I've read other people saying they used it for carving with no problems.

mimi4bye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mimi4bye Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 2:16am
post #5 of 13

I normally use a doctored box mix with egg whites, sour cream and instant pudding. It is similar to the "Durable Wedding Cake" recipe. It is perfect for carving. It has that dense pound cake consistency and is super moist without being "sticky". HTH icon_biggrin.gif

Carda Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 1:05pm