Those Of You That Make Make 3D Figures...

Decorating By Pagea Updated 24 Mar 2011 , 2:07am by Price

Pagea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pagea Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 11:28pm
post #1 of 11

I apologize if this question seems dumb icon_redface.gif but I am curious to know for those that make 3D figures if you use toothpicks, spaghetti, etc for attachment. I have viewed some tutorials that didn't use anything and others that use toothpicks or spaghetti (for attaching head to body). I've just started making 3D figures and wondered what was preferred.

10 replies
wiggler Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wiggler Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 11:45pm
post #2 of 11

Im fairly new to this and I find toothpicks to be better . I think however that as I get better I will use spagetti . I would prefer if everything was edible . At the moment spagetti doesnt seem to hold my figures up , I think I am doing something wrong and they are too heavy . Will be watching this topic . Good luck

KakeMistress Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KakeMistress Posted 24 Mar 2011 , 12:05am
post #3 of 11

I tried using a toothpick in the teddy bear in my photo album and after he was all the way dry, his head fell off :| I just use water to attatch the gumpaste to its self so far so good, hth

FlourPots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlourPots Posted 24 Mar 2011 , 12:06am
post #4 of 11

I've never used spaghetti, just a toothpick, and only for the head to body attachment, not the limbs.

My three figures were sitting though.

mommynana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommynana Posted 24 Mar 2011 , 12:27am
post #5 of 11

I cut a lolly pop stick in half ( or maybe less then half) And i`ve used that to attach the head.

mplaidgirl2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mplaidgirl2 Posted 24 Mar 2011 , 12:36am
post #6 of 11

I like spaghetti. I even use it for flowers

Sorelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sorelle Posted 24 Mar 2011 , 12:50am
post #7 of 11