Making A Figure Out Of Fondant

Decorating By sarahsweetcakes Updated 17 Mar 2011 , 11:07am by Kelbag

sarahsweetcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahsweetcakes Posted 16 Mar 2011 , 5:24pm
post #1 of 7

I am working on the figures for a Nightmare Before Christmas cake for a friend. I'm trying to make Jack and I'm having trouble. What is the best approach to do this? Should I make him in seperate pieces let them dry then piece it together? This is my first time taking on a cake like this, it's mostly just practice, but I want to do the best I can.

6 replies
Tor1985 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tor1985 Posted 17 Mar 2011 , 12:19am
post #2 of 7

How I do my figurines is make the body, arms and legs attached...depending on how it will be displayed. I use a skewer through the entire body to support it and leave enough room for the head to be put on. I the place the figure on styrofaom until dry. If I do the body seperate from the limbs then I let them dry first as the weight of the figure will squash the legs....does that make sense??

HTH

imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imagenthatnj Posted 17 Mar 2011 , 12:53am
post #3 of 7

There's some figure making tutorials here:

http://sugarsweetcakesandtreats.blogspot.com/

AngelFood4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AngelFood4 Posted 17 Mar 2011 , 1:48am
post #4 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by imagenthatnj

There's some figure making tutorials here:

http://sugarsweetcakesandtreats.blogspot.com/

Thanks, Doris!

If you're making figures out of fondant, mix some Tylose of Gumtex into it to turn it into gumpaste - helps it dry harder and faster. And build up the body parts like Tor1985 mentioned so they don't sag and droop into one another.