Fruit Cake - Have I Made A Mistake?

Decorating By allaboutcakeuk Updated 11 Mar 2011 , 3:14pm by allaboutcakeuk

allaboutcakeuk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
allaboutcakeuk Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 1:27pm
post #1 of 6

In my manic busy cake making day y'day I replied to a customer requesting a topsy turvy cake that yes the base tier in rich fruit cake is fine. Since having a quieter moment I've just thought - how??! have I made a huge error or is it really possible to properly carve a fruit cake for a topsy turvy or should I tell her its really not possible? I've never carved fruit before for the obvious reasons. I'm not sure where my brain was y'day!

help advice/please anyone - has anyone done this?

5 replies
ibmoser Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ibmoser Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 7:00pm
post #2 of 6

While I have no experience with rich fruit cake, I have tried to carve cakes with "chunks" of fruit and nuts - didn't work very well. In fact, it didn't work at all LOL. You may have better luck if you can freeze the cake and then try to carve with a sharp blade. You could then fill/smooth with icing or ganache?

Mexx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mexx Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 7:29pm
post #3 of 6

I make dark fruit cake, but I've never tried to carve it. I would think, however, if you're very careful and use a good serated knife you should be okay. Assume, you'll cover in marzipan and then fondant? If so, the marzipan can fill in the small gaps where some of the fruit pieces fall away. You may want to make sure that the fruit you use in the cake is cut quite small to avoid some of the "pits" you'll likely get. Good luck.

miss_sweetstory Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
miss_sweetstory Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 8:32pm
post #4 of 6