Tell A Customer I No Longer Want To Make Cakes For Her

Decorating By Kiddiekakes Updated 7 Mar 2011 , 11:15pm by cutiepiecupcake

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 7 Mar 2011 , 8:45pm
post #1 of 11

I have been doing cakes for her for several years now but she really is a PIA customer who has caused me more grief than I care to mention.Last year was the straw that broke the camels back.It is that time again for her to be emailing me and ordering cakes for her 2 kids.

How do I politely and professionally tell her I no longer wish to do business with/for her??

I don't want to be rude but factual and short.I don't want to lie and say I'm booked....

any suggestions?

Laurel icon_smile.gif

10 replies
KASCARLETT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KASCARLETT Posted 7 Mar 2011 , 8:46pm
post #2 of 11

Other than telling her you are sorry that you are already booked, I'm not sure what to do.

dldbrou Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dldbrou Posted 7 Mar 2011 , 8:51pm
post #3 of 11

Just tell her that you are cutting back on orders and that you are not going to be able to help her with her request this year.

miss_sweetstory Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
miss_sweetstory Posted 7 Mar 2011 , 9:03pm
post #4 of 11

You don't want to lie, so you have a couple of options:

1) "That won't be possible." When asked "why?" just repeat, "That won't be possible." (Lather, rinse, repeat.)

2) "Thank you for thinking of me, but I don't feel we've worked well together in the past. I hope you'll have success with a new cake artist."

3) "Are you kidding me? Why would I want to make a cake for you?" (ok, in our dreams...)

mayo2222 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mayo2222 Posted 7 Mar 2011 , 9:08pm
post #5 of 11

Just add a PITA fee on to her quote so she either goes away or you get compensated for putting up with her and her ways.

whisperingmadcow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
whisperingmadcow Posted 7 Mar 2011 , 9:09pm
post #6 of 11