Thoughts On Serving Raw Egg

Baking By mamacha Updated 5 Mar 2011 , 3:56am by sugardugar

mamacha Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamacha Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 5:21pm
post #1 of 8

Hi! Newbie here! I am planning on baking a cake for my friend's baby shower and she requested for chocolate cake with chocolate filling. I found a recipe with great reviews that calls for raw egg yolk in the frosting. What are your thoughts about serving frosting w/ raw eggs in it ESPECIALLY at a baby shower? Would it be ok if I just omit it? TIA

7 replies
Tclanton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tclanton Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 5:32pm
post #2 of 8

Hmmmm! Without the recipe it would be hard to say if it could be omitted. I would run as fast as I could away from that. As children have been born over the ages we have all eaten raw eggs(as our Mothers bakes and we licked the bowl and/or beaters), but I wouldnt want anyone sick on my behalf. List the recipe and I am sure that you will get a better answer.

HTH!!!

cakeandpartygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeandpartygirl Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 5:52pm
post #3 of 8

Honestly I wouldn't do that but what about a swiss buttercream which cooks the egg whites but you can add cooled chocolate to the finished buttercream to make it chocolate.

cowie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cowie Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 6:10pm
post #4 of 8

I have never used raw egg myself, but I will tell you that after being served a pc and was then after told it had raw egg it made me cringe. Id ask her if that's ok with her.

imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imagenthatnj Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 6:17pm
post #5 of 8

mamacha, don't use anything with raw eggs, especially for a baby shower. I'm sure we all have had raw eggs before, but I wouldn't want anyone to get sick, especially not the mother-to-be. Hard to know though, without seeing the recipe.

There are plenty of recipes out there that don't use raw eggs in the frosting and are as delicious.