Fondant Bulge

Decorating By nanefy Updated 23 Feb 2011 , 1:29am by nanefy

nanefy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nanefy Posted 22 Feb 2011 , 11:45pm
post #1 of 4

Hi,

So I'm pretty new to cake decorating etc, but have done a few cakes and certainly had a few disasters.

I bought some vinyl the other day as I was tempted to buy 'The Mat', but being in the UK, it was going to cost about $100 to get it shipped etc. Well I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO glad I didn't bother, because I used the vinyl today and OMG, it is simply THE single best purchase I have ever made. I was able to roll the fondant really quite thin (thinner than normal, and I normally roll to thick lol) and it went on the cake like a dream. I honestly am so happy today.

Anyway, back to my point. So I buttercreamed the cake (with the BEST buttercream I've ever used), it was so smooth etc and I fired it in the fridge and let it set up - I probably should have let it sit for a few hours so that it was properly set. Anyway, I had tried to remind myself to mist my cake with water before I popped the fondant on, but I was so excited about the vinyl and the fondant not sticking that I completely forgot and it was too late. Now, as with every single cake I've made, the fondant smooths right out with the smoother, but then after about 1 hour the fondant starts to settle a bit and I end up with bulge half way down the cake. Now I know it's not buttercream, because there is no squishy bits underneath it. My question is this - is it simply because I didn't mist, or coat my buttercream with piping gel?? Is it because my fondant simply has nothing to stick to? I'm always nervous about putting water underneath in case of big air bubbles, but is piping gel the answer?

Anyway I realise this is probably a basic question, but I wan't to know before I make any more cakes.

Thanks in advance.

3 replies
graciesj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
graciesj Posted 22 Feb 2011 , 11:58pm
post #2 of 4