Venting - Family Sheesh

Decorating By luckylibra Updated 21 Feb 2011 , 3:36pm by cakeymom

luckylibra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luckylibra Posted 20 Feb 2011 , 9:06pm
post #1 of 9

Ok, so I am a hobby baker and have been making cakes for family and friends for about a year. I am also employed full time and finishing my MBA...and did I mention a single mom. So at a family function a few months ago it was brought up that my nephew's graduation is the same day as my dad's half-brother's step-daughter.....I remember clearly that I said at the time that I don't make more than two cakes a month or so and certainly not two the same week and had planned on making my nephew's cake. I get on facebook today and she has posted under the picture of the cake I made this weekend. "Graduation is May 28th in Columbus, 10am at East & 1pm at North. Amy would love something bright, pretty, & with polka dot.".....My nephew goes to East and her daughter goes to North....not a please would you make or anything let alone the fact that I already told her I would not do it as I am making my nephew's....thanks for letting me vent.. some people are just so self absorbed they have no idea the rest of the world is not revolving around them..

8 replies
cashley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cashley Posted 20 Feb 2011 , 9:25pm
post #2 of 9

They also don't understand how long it takes to make a cake. They seem to think I should have the time in between everything I do to throw a cake in. I understand your frustration as I have stopped making any cake that I do not say that I will do. I don't do many cakes as I don't have a lot of time and know that family will still expect you to do for them.

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 20 Feb 2011 , 9:25pm
post #3 of 9

I would post right under it "Did you not understand when I sai I wouldnt be making her cake as I'll be busy making my Nepohew's cake"?

luckylibra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile