Castle Cake

Decorating By alanahchar Updated 18 Feb 2011 , 8:43pm by noahsmummy

alanahchar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alanahchar Posted 18 Feb 2011 , 10:04am
post #1 of 9

hi there, can sum1 please help me im a self taught cake maker and love to experiment, i only make cakes for my 4 children or family.
my daughter is about to turn 11 in 4 weeks and she has requested a princess castle cake, i have no idea where to begin can sum1 please help me!!
it would be greatly appreciated X

8 replies
Sam_paggers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sam_paggers Posted 18 Feb 2011 , 11:12am
post #2 of 9

I havent made a castle cake but there are 'kits' availible. Go to Google and search 'Wilton castle cake kit', first link is the kit i think most people use

sam
xxx

noahsmummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
noahsmummy Posted 18 Feb 2011 , 11:13am
post #3 of 9

hi, with my two castle cake ive done, ive just done a two tier round cake, for the turrets, the first time i wrapped cardboard cylinders in fondant and topped with an upsidedown ice cream cone, and covered that in fondant "shingles". the second time i did it i used rice krispie treat for the cylindar part.. found it to be more stable.. and used the up turned ice cream cone again.

There are a million and one ways to make a castle cake, i believe wilton sells a turret kit? I think castle are fun because the option really are endless and you can make almost anything work. =) good luck

alanahchar Posted 18 Feb 2011 , 11:14am
post #4 of 9

thank thats a great help, i have heard people talking about wilton kits, but didnt know what they ment ha , thanks X

alanahchar Posted 18 Feb 2011 , 12:39pm
post #5 of 9

thanks for the responses , naohsmummy when u say for the towers u used a 2 tier round cake how did u do that?

Jennifer353 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jennifer353 Posted 18 Feb 2011 , 1:43pm
post #6 of 9