Cake Mix Question

Decorating By Lovesautumn Updated 17 Feb 2011 , 5:36am by NanaSandy

Lovesautumn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lovesautumn Posted 16 Feb 2011 , 12:53pm
post #1 of 8

I am making a 9x13x2 cake for my son's first birthday on Sat.
This is a new pan and I was wondering if this pan would need more than one cake mix?

Also how much icing would I need?

Newbie here!!

7 replies
kryptonite Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kryptonite Posted 16 Feb 2011 , 1:15pm
post #2 of 8

One cake mix should be plenty...I use about 5 cups of buttercream for a quarter sheet cake icon_smile.gif

sweetcakesbyjen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcakesbyjen Posted 16 Feb 2011 , 1:32pm
post #3 of 8

I use Pillsbury mixes and I have to use 2 for mine. If you are using a box mix, they do not all measure out the same. Here is a link to help you.

http://www.wilton.com/cakes/making-cakes/baking-wedding-cake-2-inch-pans.cfm

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 16 Feb 2011 , 1:33pm
post #4 of 8

a 9x13 uses 7 cups of batter to get 2" of height
http://www.wilton.com/cakes/making-cakes/baking-wedding-cake-2-inch-pans.cfm

Depending on what brand or flavor of cake mix you use you'll need about 1-1/2 boxes up to 2 boxes. Different brands and falvors within thos brands make anywhere from 3-5 cups of batter (unless you're adding more ingredients to it as an extender then it'll make more cups.)

mayo2222 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mayo2222 Posted 16 Feb 2011 , 2:17pm
post #5 of 8

Like the others have said, you are looking at using 2 mixes to get 2 inches in height out of your 9x13

momcake101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
momcake101 Posted 16 Feb 2011 , 2:32pm
post #6 of 8