New To Fondant, Need Some Advise

Decorating By egg47 Updated 15 Feb 2011 , 5:15am by sugardugar

egg47 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
egg47 Posted 14 Feb 2011 , 9:56pm
post #1 of 4

Hello Everyone
Im new to baking/ decorating cakes with fondant. ive made 3 so far, and they all taste great, but im having issues with the fondant, biggest is tearing...when i put the fondant on the cake it starts to tear almost immediately. as i said im am new to all this, ive looked online at how to's on making and applying fondant, but none of them help for this... also it is marshmallow fondant i am using, ive tryed homemade and storebought and still have the same issue

3 replies
tracycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracycakes Posted 14 Feb 2011 , 10:05pm
post #2 of 4

There are a couple of things that might be causing it. Make sure it is kneaded well and soft. If it is too dry, it will tear. Also, if you roll it too thin, it tears easily. It needs to be at least 3/8" thick. I recommend Fondarific. It is all I have been using for the past year and it does NOT tear. It also tastes great.

patticakes34 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
patticakes34 Posted 15 Feb 2011 , 12:52am
post #3 of 4