Please Help!!!!!

Decorating By rcsnickers2 Updated 7 Feb 2011 , 4:04am by rcsnickers2

rcsnickers2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rcsnickers2 Posted 6 Feb 2011 , 3:28pm
post #1 of 6

I am making a pipe for a ductile iron pipe company. I am planning on doing 12" squares for the bottom . Two side by side making it 24" long.. Then taking 8" round cakes stacked on its side to look like a pipe.

How do I stack the round cakes on its side? (6 layers worth)
DO I put a dowel through the round cakes?
How do I stop the round cakes from rolling? (the pipe)

For the pipe, would it better to make a sheet cake or square cakes and carve the pipe? Would the round cake be hard to cut?

I am covering the bottom cake as well as the pipe in fondant.

Thanks for any info. Hope I explained my idea.

I have never done anything this huge before. I think I am thinking big for my field of experience from watching the first and second seasons of cake boss! Man, what awesome cakes!

Letisha

5 replies
emiyeric Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emiyeric Posted 6 Feb 2011 , 3:48pm
post #2 of 6

I would probably use stacked sheetcake strips and carve them, but if you want to use the round cakes, I would saw off one side of them all, so that they actually rest on a flat side. Hope that makes sense icon_smile.gif.

divinecc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
divinecc Posted 6 Feb 2011 , 3:50pm
post #3 of 6

I don't have any advice for your other questions but on your round cakes I would slighty level the bottoms where they rest on the base so they won't move only enough that it doesn't change the roundness if that makes sense.

neecies_sweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
neecies_sweets Posted 6 Feb 2011 , 4:21pm
post #4 of 6