Commercil Kitchen Questions

Business By lacey88 Updated 8 Feb 2011 , 11:15pm by Cascades

lacey88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lacey88 Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 12:37am
post #1 of 17

i am in the process of starting my own cake business. i have a shared commercial kitchen that i am looking into renting. $250 per month.....and only 20 hours per month.

however, today i came across a small storefront that has been vacant for a long time. for just a little more money i could rent the storefront, and have 24 hour access....instead of trying to share a kitchen with a million other people.

i guess what i'm wondering is....this storefront doesn't have a kitchen. how much could i expect to spend on a kitchen if i pursued the storefront. i dont need a lot....an oven, 3 compartment sink, and some sort of cooler.....i'm sure there are oher things as well (i just dont know what they are). can you even use just a regular fridge? this may sound silly to some....but i've never done this before. thanks!

16 replies
bellaudreycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bellaudreycakes Posted 3 Feb 2011 , 12:54am
post #2 of 17

I am going through the same process right now, the place I am renting use to be a salon so I have the plumbing and electrical however I will need to add additional outlets and plumbing ect. I have to have a 3 compartment sink, hand sink (bathroom does not count) and mop sink all NSF, along with all my equipment has to be commercial NSF including oven, fridge, and freezer. Some states may have different requirements. As for the place you are looking to rent if it doesn't have much plumbing ect I would have a plumber and electrician scoop out the place first to make sure you don't have to spend a fortune for that. I would call your local health dept. for the rules and regulations in your state, they were very friendly and helpful to me, and answered all of my 1000 questions lol. Good Luck thumbs_up.gif

SonolitoSweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile