Making Cakes In Advance!

Decorating By Sputina Updated 2 Feb 2011 , 1:14pm by Sputina

Sputina Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sputina Posted 31 Jan 2011 , 9:26pm
post #1 of 7

Hello everyone! I am brand new to cake central and still very newbie when it comes to decorating cake so I apologize for all my questions! I tried to search for the answer but alas I couldnt find an exact solution.

I am making a 4 layer high cake for friday. I cooked the cakes last Saturday and due to change of plans, I was forced to wrap them in plastic and foil and save for next week. The cake I made was a store bought pillsbury classic yellow. I also made some marshmellow fondant (the recipe on the top 10 list on cc!)

The problem I have is that I am so busy, I think the only time I have to sculpt the cake is tuesday and wednesday. What I plan to sculpt is a 3d pokemon pokeball that is slightly open and I plan to make it about 4 circles high. I plan to use the buttercream recipe on cc as well to fill and cover the cake before putting on fonant.

Since it is a store bought cake, I wasn't sure how long it is good for if I do finish the cake wednesday night and keep it in the fridge for 2 days. What do you guys think? Any advice would be greatly appreciated to this cake newbie! icon_smile.gif

6 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 31 Jan 2011 , 9:33pm
post #2 of 7

If you make it on Tuesday and Wednesday, there's no need to refrigerate it until Friday... it's fine on the counter at room temperature. The cake can't dry out once it's covered.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 31 Jan 2011 , 10:03pm
post #3 of 7

How have you stored the cakes since Saturday. You said you wrapped them, but did you freeze them? If they have just been in the fridge or on the counter, then I would say rebake. Other wise the cake would already be a week old on the day you planned to eat it.