Argggghhh!!! Help!

Decorating By RUTHEY509 Updated 31 Jan 2011 , 1:53pm by RUTHEY509

RUTHEY509 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RUTHEY509 Posted 31 Jan 2011 , 8:59am
post #1 of 4

HI everyone, would very much like some help! Im a total beginner at this and am currently making my wedding cake (EEEKKK!!) anyway I have made all my sugar roses to fall down the side of the cake......the burning question is.... HOW DO I ATTACH THEM????? they are on wires, do I simply jab them into the cake?? No tutorial for this one ha ha! thanks in advance. This is the look im trying to achieve!! Ive made fondant roses as my cake is fruit/fondant. and also I want to attach a round posy to the top tier, do i use a lump of fondant to put the flowers into?

http://www.marksandspencer.com/Marks-and-Spencer-Classic-Chocolate/dp/B00170PCYQ?ie=UTF8&ref=sr_1_5&nodeId=77005031&sr=1-5&qid=1296464225&pf_rd_r=06GFVKTPK4Z7M7CVBES0&pf_rd_m=A2BO0OYVBKIQJM&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_i=77005031&pf_rd_p=215653147&pf_rd_s=related-items-6

3 replies
tinygoose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tinygoose Posted 31 Jan 2011 , 9:36am
post #2 of 4

I don't like to place wires in cake in case there is any lead in them.

I use drinking straws and pipe royal icing in them sometimes. For the top I usually use a posy pick (available at craft/floral stores) with floral glue (inedible). The floral glue stays flexible, but dont use it in straws or anything that could leak through. You can do this in advance. I stick mine in a dummy cake and let dry.