Help With Fillings In A Fondant Covered Cake?

Decorating By Tink1016 Updated 6 Jan 2011 , 3:33am by leily

Tink1016 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tink1016 Posted 6 Jan 2011 , 1:16am
post #1 of 5

When you all are adding all these yummy fillings to your cakes, do you automatically refrigerate them? (I'm thinking of mousse's and stuff). What do you do when you have a fondant covered cake that can't do into the fridge? Do you just make sure to add a really simple filling to it?

I am making a fondant covered wedding cake in a few weeks and she wanted a chocolate mousse filling but I won't be able to refrigerate it because it's covered in fondant, and because the cake will be too big. Can someone please help me? I am really new to wedding cakes (I've only made one) and need some help!

4 replies
leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 6 Jan 2011 , 1:40am
post #2 of 5

fondant can be refridgerated. It will accumulate some moisture on it as it comes to room temp, jsut don't touch it so you don't smudge it. Some bring to room temp in a box so that the moisture forms on the box instead of the cake.

JackieDryden Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JackieDryden Posted 6 Jan 2011 , 1:42am
post #3 of 5