Pretty Sugar Cookies?

Baking By bradfab Updated 2 Dec 2010 , 4:55am by cheatize

bradfab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bradfab Posted 1 Dec 2010 , 5:15pm
post #1 of 7

Hi all, I'm looking for some sugar cookie tips. I'm helping Habitat for Humanity with a charity cookie walk, but I've never met a homemade sugar cookie I liked (in taste or appearance). I'm going to try the NFSC recipe on CC, but how do I make them look good? I've seen some really gorgeous sugar cookies here- very "clean" (nothing like those BC-frosted sugar cookies my family gave to friends while I was growing up). I've seen some people talk about certain Glace icings they use, but is there one that is "standard" or kind of basic?

Also, what technique do you use? Is it complicated? After you've glazed them, do you have to decorate details in RI, or can you use more glace? Or does that just make a mess?

I'm new to all this, so the less complicated, the better. icon_lol.gificon_lol.gificon_lol.gif
Thanks in advance!

6 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 1 Dec 2010 , 5:29pm
post #2 of 7

To me the easiest is to find a recipe that has a good flavor without needing icing and decorate them before you bake. You take some of the cookie dough and thin it out with water or milk to a pipeable consistency and add food color and pipe details onto the unbaked cookie--it will spread a tad in the oven so you wanna use real a fine point but those are the easiest by far to moi.

Or you could dip the bottom in chocolate too if the cookie needed a flavor boost.