Yes, It's Another How Much Would You Charge For This!!

Decorating By Emmar308 Updated 21 Nov 2010 , 5:06am by caymancake

Emmar308 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Emmar308 Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 11:19am
post #1 of 11

Hello cakers, i would love to know how much you would charge for this cake - it's the most recent cake in my photo's (Hello Kitty). I'm just starting out in my home business and am trying to establish my prices. The cake was carved from a 9 x 13 inch pan (2 inch deep), filled with jam and buttercream and covered in fondant. Baking and decorating took me 6 or 7 hours (i'm not the fastest decorator i know! lol). Also, how many would you say this would serve? The lady wanted a cake for about 20 people but i think i may have oversized the cake! Thanks for your help xxx

10 replies
pattycakesnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattycakesnj Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 11:56am
post #2 of 11

9 x 13 feeds 45 people, but you need to subtract what you carved away. It is hard to tell from the pic how big the remaining cake is, but if you figure you have 35 servings left, I charge $5 a serving for carved cakes, thus I would charge $175 US.

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 4:50pm
post #3 of 11

Free. You can't sell copyrighted characters.

A 9x13 only 2" tall serves 25:
http://www.wilton.com/cakes/making-cakes/baking-wedding-cake-2-inch-pans.cfm

Emmar308 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Emmar308 Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 10:29pm
post #4 of 11

Thankyou for your input ladies icon_smile.gif

Cakeonista Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakeonista Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 10:58pm
post #5 of 11

I believe you dont take away cost on the the cake that you carve. If the customer wants a carved cake and you need a 9x13 to do it and have to throw cake away Im pretty sure the customer pays for it all. Why should the baker lose on the scraps? Please enlighten me while we are on the subject.

pattycakesnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile