Newbie Question: How Do You Get Your Tiers So Tall?

Decorating By CharliesMom09 Updated 11 Nov 2010 , 1:35am by JaeRodriguez

CharliesMom09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CharliesMom09 Posted 9 Nov 2010 , 8:19pm
post #1 of 13

I'm a new hobbyist. How do you get your tiers so tall? What goes into each tier? Is it three layers baked in separate pans? Two layers in separate pans then torted, so four layers total? Something else? How tall is each layer? How tall is a total tier?

I've only made two layers with one layer of filling, and my cakes look so short. I'd love to build up the height as a step toward making my cakes look more professional.

Many TIA!

12 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 9 Nov 2010 , 9:03pm
post #2 of 13

How tall are your layers that you start with?

I use two 2in-ish layers, torte them, so that I have three layers of filling and 4 layers of cake.

Mothersuperior Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mothersuperior Posted 9 Nov 2010 , 9:35pm
post #3 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasSugar

How tall are your layers that you start with?

I use two 2in-ish layers, torte them, so that I have three layers of filling and 4 layers of cake.

I do the same, so after leveling the cakes, torting and filling you should end up with at least a 4 in cake.

CharliesMom09 Posted 10 Nov 2010 , 2:44am
post #4 of 13

Thanks, you two! I don't know how tall mine are... right now, I just have two, 9-in. pans that I divide the cake batter between. Depending on how much I have to slice off to level them, I get a slightly different size for each cake. They're definitely less than 2 in. each, though.

To get a 2 in. layer, can you use a 2" deep pan, or is it easier with a 3" pan?

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 10 Nov 2010 , 3:27am
post #5 of 13