Nicholas Lodge School--Ultimate Gumpaste Flowers

Decorating By melissad Updated 9 Aug 2013 , 9:39am by sweet princess

melissad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melissad Posted 8 Nov 2010 , 3:18am
post #1 of 8

I've taken Wilton classes, and learned some figure modeling/cake carving techniques through online reasearch and trial and error, but one area I really feel lacking in is making good (realistic) flowers. So, I'm considering the 5-day Ultimate Gumpaste Flowers class at Nicholas Lodge's school in Atlanta.

This is obviously an investement, so I was wondering if any of you had been and had feedback. A few specific things I'm wondering:
-what is the teacher/student ratio (is it small enough that you can ask questions/get direction if needed)?
-are most attendees professional decorators (being mostly self-taught, and only a hobbyist right now, will I be out of place/not able to keep up)?
-any recommendations on lodging and/or any supply stores (other than the schools) to check out if I go?

TIA for any feedback!

7 replies
KonfectionKonnection Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KonfectionKonnection Posted 8 Nov 2010 , 3:36am
post #2 of 8

The 5 Day Ultimate GP Flowers is a great class! I can't believe how much I learned--and everyone is extremely helpful and kind. There is plenty of one-on-one, as they consider a "full" class 22 students, I believe. Nicholas Lodge comes around to help frequently, as does his assistant who is also very helpful.

The other students are usually quite a mix--professionals, hobbyists, and a few w/ little or no experience in caking. The days are really full--he covers quite a bit of information and techniques. This can be good and bad--you feel as though you are getting your money's worth, but by the end of the week you can feel a little drained/tired (but in a good way).